Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 17-01-2008, 02:18 PM   #1
AikoWorld
Subscriber
 
AikoWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London
Posts: 429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default .obj import from cad, geomagic

Hey guy`s

I have a client that gave me a .dxf file to convert to a pen outline drawing render.

Now i asked the client to export the dxf file to .obj, so i can import it into maya.

in maya, blender, topogun and bodypaint i get errors and it dose not show up.

In Zbrush i can see the model. now i try to export it again from zbrush and then import it into Maya.

Dose not work.

So i`m stuck with a working dxf file that i cant convert.

btw the exported dxf file came from geomagic a 3d scanning program.

Anybody have a solution for me?

And they can`t export it to 3ds for some reason while the specification says it can.

Btw the dxf file is a full mesh object (3d scanning)

Thanks for the help!
AikoWorld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2008, 02:42 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Hi Aikoworld

Dont know if thins helps but maya's got a dxf import option, not too sure what the actual name of it is but its in the plug in manager, might be worht a look if you've not come accross it.

Cheers

Steve
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2008, 03:00 PM   #3
AikoWorld
Subscriber
 
AikoWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London
Posts: 429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey gster123 i have tried the dxf file but no luck.

Thx for the suggestion!
AikoWorld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 01:56 PM   #4
AikoWorld
Subscriber
 
AikoWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London
Posts: 429
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

found the problem my client gave only a .obj without any mtl files.

And seems you will have no display if there is no mtl file with the original exported model.
AikoWorld is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.