Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-01-2008, 12:52 AM   #1
Registered User
khoma's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hardware - Please recommend for Rendering

Question, I am looking at improving my PC's performance for Rendering in Maya (PLE.)

My PC's specifications are given below

Essentially it is 1,5 years old with an
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6600 @ 2.40GHz with 4MB Cache

2 GB DDR2 533 MHz Ram (Corsair)

Gigabyte 7600 GT (GV-NX76T256D-RH)

What can i do to improve my rendering performance...

Option (A). Add 2 GB of Ram to make it 4GB RAM.
Option (B). Change graphic card... (Please recommend a decent card, that is not too expensive).

Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
GigaByte Board model: 965P-DS3 (Intel 965P)
BrandName:Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6600 @ 2.40GHz
NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GT
Corsair 2 GB VS 533MHZ DDR2 Ram

OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Professional

System Model GBTUACPI
System Type X86-based PC
Processor x86 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 6 GenuineIntel ~2399 Mhz
Total Physical Memory 2,048.00 MB
Available Physical Memory 1.21 GB
Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
Page File Space 3.85 GB
khoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2008, 01:54 AM   #2
gster123's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts

Rendering using either software or Mental ray generally taxes the processor more then anything, so unless your scene is using a lot of RAM or your going to be rendering with hardware then upping the RAM and/or changing the graphics card wont really do much. And if your using 32 bit OS then im pretty sure that a programme can only access 1.5 gig of RAM so upping it wont do that much.

Ive got that processor in my desktop PC and ive overclocked it to 3.2 gig with watercooling, and its running nice and stable, I can go higher (ive had it up to 3.8 gig but it became very unstable) so that might be a way forward.

Im not too sure but if you check the specs of the board it might be able to use a quad core, there pretty cheap now.
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2008, 09:02 AM   #3
Registered User
khoma's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Thanks for your help gster123

I will look at watercooling and overclocking!
khoma is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.