Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-01-2008, 05:19 AM   #1
edSU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default laptop for maya 2008

I'm new to maya, and am looking to buy a laptop which will run maya 2008 well, with a budget of up to £2000 (but hopefully more like £1600). I have always used macs, so I was wondering if the macbook pro 15'', with 2.4 Core 2 Duo, and Geforce 8600 GT graphics card will run well? Has anyone tried this? I'd love to go with this option, but I'm worried it's a risk, as some of the older macbookpros seem to have had problems with Maya or been slow in tests.
If not, I was looking at the Dell Precision M6300 Core 2 Duo 2.6ghz, with 4GB memory, and Quadro FX1600 256mb, or the M90 with 2.33Ghz Core 2 Duo, Quadro FX3500 512mb, with 4GB memory. Or maybe the HP8710w with Core 2 Duo 2.4Ghz, Quadro FX1600 256mb, and 4GB ram. Has anyone tried the m6300 with maya?
Unfortunately it would need to be a laptop because I work in different places, otherwise I would definately go for a workstation. (I will also use it for Flash, After FX, video work and Photoshop/Illustrator.)
Does anyone have any advice?
thanks very much.
edSU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2008, 05:28 AM   #2
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

well my laptop is much less powerful than all of them and it runs it fine
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2008, 05:31 AM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Ive got a XPS and it runs maya, AE, prem, really really sweetly, well worth looking into.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2008, 06:06 AM   #4
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Since you're using a bunch of design/video software, go with the Mac.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2008, 06:25 AM   #5
edSU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the swift replies. gster123, which xps did you get?
edSU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2008, 10:23 AM   #6
BadG3r
Subscriber
 
BadG3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

what I tend to believe is that what is important is a nice display resolution so u can actually see your models.

but to be honest I would go for a 17" with 1920res.
ok, they are bigger but its more gentle on the eye if you really wanna work with it.

greets
BadG3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2008, 12:42 PM   #7
jm82792
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I run maya niecly on a 1.6 GHZ core DOU with an Intergrated graphics card with 1 gig of ram. Now it runs okay like it is smooth no lagging but I am gonna get a nice graphics card for my laptop to render things quicker. Eventually if I get serious into maya I'll get a nice quad core from dell since they make so may computers they are affordable and reliable.
jm82792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2008, 06:17 PM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I got the M1710, Ive had it for over a year not, no prob' and nice and fast, nice hi res big screen etc.

Incidentaly it was significantly cheaper than the equivilent speced MAC, and at the time you couldnt get a mac with the same graphics card and screen resolution, it runs at 1920 X 1200 so its perfect for HD vid editing, it also came with a 3 year return to base warranty.

I think that hte new version the M1730 comes with dual cards and sits at about £1600
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2008, 08:35 PM   #9
IJke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I run Maya 2008 on a previous generation Macbook Pro 15", it works fine. Don't get a 17", that's just ridiculous. If you need a bigger screen, buy an external!
IJke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2008, 08:52 PM   #10
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Im currently using my laptop with a 17" screen, and i'll be honest theres no way I'd swap it for a 15", its so much better.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2008, 09:37 PM   #11
edSU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the replies. Using a 15'' with another display would be good if I was mainly working in one place, but as I move around a lot the external display wouldn't get used much, so the 17'' sounds like it would be better for my eyesight (I have been using a powerbook 12'' for the past 4 years, and I think it's making me even more short-sighted!).

It's good to know the xps 1710 with geforce graphics card worked with Maya, because the maya website only seems to list quadro fx ones as certified. The new generation macbook pros use geforce as well, so hopefully they will work as well as IJke's.
edSU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 04:34 PM   #12
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Originally posted by gster123
Im currently using my laptop with a 17" screen, and i'll be honest theres no way I'd swap it for a 15", its so much better.
yeah - just to back up gster - my laptop has a 17" screen - the bigger the screen the better, especially when you're nudging vertices around.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 07:01 PM   #13
IJke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by arran
yeah - just to back up gster - my laptop has a 17" screen - the bigger the screen the better, especially when you're nudging vertices around.
Well yeah, obviously, but I find a 15" just right. Enough screen estate for using maya, but not too big to use as a portable. In my view 17" is overkill when it comes to a laptop.

It probably comes down to this, how many times will you be using your laptop outside of your house for maya? If a lot, go with a 17", a bigger screen would be better. But if you mostly use maya indoors, get a 15" and a cheapish 19-24" tft.

It's also a financial question, you could save about $700, but honestly, if I had the cash I'd buy a 17", just because they're sexy.
IJke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2008, 02:10 PM   #14
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i use a dell M90
awesome machine quick and a solid performer

17" the way to go aswell
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2008 Artega GT Acid44 Work In Progress 7 06-11-2010 10:30 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.