Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-01-2008, 07:36 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking How to create a sky

I have always wanted to create a simply sky background when I render cities, beaches etc. Any idea of the simplest way to create a sky in Maya 6 or 8?

chrissy19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2008, 08:03 PM   #2
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi, i found this way that was pretty simple.
If you create a sphere, delete the bottom half and scale it up so that it covers your scene. Apply a lambert shader and a ramp texture to it. Give the ramp 4 color divisions (I think i used dark blue, light blue, white and light blue from the top).

To get a cloud type effect you can add a fractal to the ramp colours. increase either the u or v to strech the fractal horizontally. there you go. Just play around with the settings.

This is something i did a while ago with this sky effect

Hope it helps
Attached Thumbnails
Al_mullin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2008, 08:05 PM   #3
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 531
Thanks: 1
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts


the easiest way to create sky is to create a sphere, and delete the bottom have of it. now you should be left with just the top half, scale it so it covers your scene, all you have to do is just apply some sky like texture to it, and that should do it
jali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2008, 06:20 AM   #4
Registered User
eyezcene's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: iligan
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

how about using the visor?and import clouds?that'l be much simplier...(this only work for the clouds not for the sky)
eyezcene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2008, 02:48 PM   #5
Registered User
mattbarb's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: East London, Ingerland
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


Is it possible to add a Sky in a Mental Ray Render i keep getting an error.
Tiff image is being used?

Many thanks,
mattbarb is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.