Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-12-2002, 07:00 AM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Video Capture

i know this is somewhat off subject but i wasent sure which forum to place it in but here goes i bought a video capture card by pinnicle systems.. with the software it will capture great but it will only allow me to capture with mpeg and a few other compression methods so i want to use it with premier and capture full uncompressed frames but every time i try to use it premier says the device is in use by another application and i went to the point of killing every proccess possible even explorer ( im using windows xp by the way) and restarting adobe premier and it still claims somthing is using the device any one have any sugesstions
<a href="//"></a>
brinkoo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2003, 08:46 AM   #2
Posts: n/a

me and dave done a job once on a pinnicle card. We had to call daves room mate in the end as he knows quite a bit... Ill see if dave can pass the message on mate and see if we can get some feedback for you
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2003, 01:36 PM   #3
iron_tick's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicagoland USA
Posts: 719
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

just bought pinnacle and taking it back, it doesnt like maya on my system.
<html><font size=2>
<font color="blue">
And after calming me down with some orange slices and some fetal spooning,
E.T. revealed to me his singular purpose.

--TOOL, 10,000 Days---

iron_tick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2003, 11:38 PM   #4
Hidalgo's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Idaho USA!!!
Posts: 492
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I have a pinnacle firewire card and it pulls in the footage from my DV camcorder in uncompressed AVI.

It looks to be just a standard firewire card...I suppose it's the software that counts.

I have also pulled it in to Premiere from my camera as an umcompressed AVI.

I'm not sure if that's going to be any help, since I haven't had any issues with the device as of yet.
Hidalgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2003, 06:47 AM   #5
kbrown's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

A little correction (couldn't help it). DV is not uncompressed. PAL DV is YUV compressed with 4:2:0 sampling (NTSC DV is 4:1:1. Not 100% sure).

When you "capture" from a DV camcoder, you're actually just copying the stuff. No image processing done here and thus no loss in quality. If you use just straight cuts with no effects whatsoever and export it back to tape you're not loosing any quality either.

But as soon as you use just a simple color correction transition or effect, you're gonna have to re-compress that part. This is where the DV codec quality comes in. The default MS DV codec isn't the best available. For example Canopus and Mainconcept DV codecs are much better.

Here's more info:
- My Website

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inline video David Members Lounge 5 09-12-2010 10:40 PM

Thread Tools

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.