Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-02-2008, 09:37 PM   #1
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default highQuality render limitations

I have a problem and dont know if it is a limitation of maya8.5 or maybe of my graphics card NV 7900gs...


situation:

1 Object
2 UV sets

uv1 = diffuse texture
uv2 = tileable diffuse texture

i linked 2 different textures to 2 different UV sets on my object. everything works fine so long. but as soon as I use a layered texture for the Color Channel (2 inputs are -> #1 ambient occlusion pass; #2 tileable diffuse texture) both textures use the map1 channel from UVs, allthough i linked #1 to UVset1 and #2 to UVset2.


well, my question now would be - how can i get rid of this and make maya display both textures on different UVsets correctly in viewport?

tia!
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 01:19 AM   #2
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

The Layered shader when applied to an object will not display The textures in the view port. Also the layered shader will place the 2 UV textures on top of each other.

So basically as long as your using a layered shader on your object, you wont be able to see the textures in view port.
You will only see them in Renders.
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 03:05 PM   #3
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

but actually I do see my textures which are plugged into a layered shader in viewport. the only problem are the UV channels which are used to display my textures.

thx tho for your help!
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.