Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-03-2008, 09:36 AM   #1
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Saving Preset Brushes in photoshop?

Hi,
How do I save preset brushes in Photoshop CS3?
I can't seem to save the brush. When I finished making my brush, I painted the pattern on the screen,
I went to Edit, then define preset brush. Instead of saving the brush, it made me a pattern instead.

I remember in the earlier photoshops, you were able to save the actual brush. How do I do this?
Anhslaught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 03:53 PM   #2
Al_mullin
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thats wierd, it should work. what you running photoshop on?
Al_mullin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 01:01 AM   #3
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm running Photoshop CS3. I know This could be done, but I'm guessing "save preset brushes" isn't the one.

You think you can try and test that out, to see if that does the brush, or if it does the pattern?
Anhslaught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 01:37 PM   #4
sspikedudley
Subscriber
 
sspikedudley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 344
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

right your getting yourself confused here:
Define brush is simply for taking what is painted on screen and making a default brush out of it, so if I painted a detailed rock on screen and defined it as a brush, I would then have a brush that paints the rock texture in the default hard round way.

If you have played around with brush settings already and simply want to save that all you have to do is in the brush creator do down to the new symbol at the bottom and name your brush
sspikedudley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 11:58 PM   #5
Anhslaught
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lol I feel stupid. It was so easy. That did the trick. Thanks a lot.
Anhslaught is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.