Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-03-2008, 10:22 AM   #1
phonk
Registered User
 
phonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Holland
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default multiple textures

heya

I'm modeling a girl and i modeled the head and the body seperate (yeah big mistake in the first place.. i know). Also I textured both of them seperately (next big mistake..).

So now I got two textures, two UVW maps and two blinns.

Now I want to combine my meshes and have a shader network which is as clean as possible. Preferably just one blinn, with the seperate UVW maps and textures still in place...

There isn't really a problem when i combine and merge the meshes, but when I want to adjust the overall specularity for example, it would be better to have just one Blinn (or skinshader at the end..)

any ideas on this???

thanx in advance...
__________________
'surf now, apocalypse later'
phonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 12:30 PM   #2
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You could try stitching up the two UV maps in the UV Texture Editor to get just one UV map. For the texture I'm guessing you used photoshop or something similar to paint the textures, in which case you could import them into a new photoshop file and flip/shape one of them over so you could fit them up to your one UV mesh.

Hope that makes kinda sense

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 05:11 PM   #3
phonk
Registered User
 
phonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Holland
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

so i should use one extra large texturemap?
The map for the face is already 1024x1024 so if i want to maintain the same level of detail it's goin to be a 4K map... at least..
And I got a computer from the stone-age

:headbang:

Guess I gotta get meself a big-box...

And how about the switch utility; anyone worked with those in these circumstances?

thanks anyway

mike
__________________
'surf now, apocalypse later'
phonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM
New Feature: Multiple Image Upload David Members Lounge 0 30-11-2010 09:40 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.