Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 31-12-2002, 05:21 AM   #1
VAMP1Re
Registered User
 
VAMP1Re's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default hey guys long time no post

Somone may remember me I posted a few times a while ago. Just got a copy of maya and really got into it. Then i lost interest and got snowed under. Now i have time to get back into it so im happy.


Anyways...

I just created a nurbs cylinder and have used planar on one end.

I'm creating a stargate type animation. So i'm going to be using turbulance..should look like this with movement in the end

anyways since the number of divisions on the front of the cylinder effect the water effect i was wondeing how to insert more isospams or divide the face into smaller pieces..heres a pic so u may be able to discipher my ramblings , its just the one object but ill show u a few angles..



any help is greatly appreciated

cheers vamps
__________________

Last edited by VAMP1Re : 31-12-2002 at 05:24 AM.
VAMP1Re is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 11:53 PM   #2
kal
SM Alumni
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Exeter, UK
Posts: 407
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

WB vamp.
Unfortunatly you cant insert iso's onto trimmed surfaces.. you could either try creating a cylinder with caps on, or use polys/subd's instead.
kal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2003, 01:59 AM   #3
VAMP1Re
Registered User
 
VAMP1Re's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

how do i create a cylinder iwth the caps already on?
__________________
VAMP1Re is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2003, 02:01 AM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Create > Poly Primitives > Cylinder > Options

check caps on top and bottom
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2003, 02:24 AM   #5
VAMP1Re
Registered User
 
VAMP1Re's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cheers please excuse my newbieness.
__________________
VAMP1Re is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
where can i post info about 3D job openings? atadami Members Lounge 3 03-12-2010 10:51 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.