Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-03-2008, 12:23 AM   #1
mcrae44
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Ncloth? and low poly modelling/high poly rendering?

hey, im making a ninja that im goign to do a 2 minute animation with. i want to know, if i give him a cloth bandana, will it significantly affect rendering times?


and also, how can i animate using a low poly model, but then use the high poly model when i want to render?
mcrae44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 12:26 AM   #2
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

cloth shouldn't affect rendering time at all... running the simulation while playing back the animation in maya for the first time might be slowed, though.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 06:44 AM   #3
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Just remember to keep caching you cloth simulation so you can animate faster.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 03:37 PM   #4
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

I would bind the ncloth to the rig so it doesn't need to solve that much(at least that is what i would do now i used to keep caching which costs eventually hours..)
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 07:06 PM   #5
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I personally would complete your animation before going near nCloth simulation. Then cache out your geometry and start to work on the cloth simulation from there.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 08:42 PM   #6
mcrae44
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

this is tricky. ive managed to make one half, and it reacts well, but then i made another one on the same nucleus as it deforms so that parts of it turn black, almost as if the uvs are moving and the texture is swimming.

i also dont even know what a cache is, and google isnt helping, i think ill do the animation first and then add cloth in after if i have time
mcrae44 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.