Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-03-2008, 06:53 AM   #1
kendec9999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default isoparms to curves

Hello,

maybe a stupid question, but it would help me enormously... Doing a architectural design.

Suppose i have a mountain in 3D. This mountain would have horizontal isoparms. How can I make ring-surfaces of these horizontal isoparms?

I think I can ask my question differently: how do I make a isolated curve that I can work with, from a horizontal isoparm?

Tanx

Ken
kendec9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 07:22 AM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

If the isoprams there then and you want it to be a curve, select the isopram and then goto curves duplicate surface curves.

Other than that I'm a bit confused what your after?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 07:38 AM   #3
kendec9999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes,

It's quite what I'm looking for: from isoparm to editable curve.
But can you please explain a bit more how to do this? I cannot find the curves duplicate surface curves. Where is this?

Thanks...

ken
kendec9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 07:53 AM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Its on the surfaces menu
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 03:28 PM   #5
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Originally posted by gster123
Its on the surfaces menu
In maya......LOL:p
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 03:46 PM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

yeah???????
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 04:03 PM   #7
kendec9999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking

as always, very easy.
tanx man.
kendec9999 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.