Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-03-2008, 08:58 AM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Extude doesn't work


I am using maya 2008 and the extrude tool alwys gives me a syntax error. I tried extruding faces and edges, both result in the same error message. I reinstalled maya several times, but nothing helped. On my notebook it works great.
Does someone have an idea what could be broken or how to fix this?

Here is the error message copied from the script editor:

polyExtrudeFacet -constructionHistory 1 -keepFacesTogether 1 -pvx 0,6875909292 -pvy 4,270287072 -pvz 0,1234324212 -divisions 1 -twist 0 -taper 1 -off 0 -smoothingAngle 30 pCube1.f[1];

// Error: //
// Error: Syntax error //
GeorgX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 09:20 AM   #2
gster123's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts

Try deleting your preferences and then giving it a go.
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 09:25 AM   #3
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I did, nothing changed
GeorgX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 02:27 PM   #4
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
mastone's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts

uninstall maya en reinstall it delete any referenceto maya in your registery turn off computer pull out the plug for about 30 seconds then turn your computer on again and install maya.
if this doesn't work you probably have a virus or worse.... norton anti virus LOL
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thumbnails in WIP & Finished Work Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 11 09-12-2010 05:22 AM
Character animation-Finished work maheshsubbiah Finished Work 7 05-12-2010 04:04 AM
SimplyMaya 2010 - Community Updates Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 8 01-12-2010 04:28 PM
Saw II work mtmckinley Finished Work 8 16-11-2010 12:33 PM

Thread Tools

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.