Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-04-2008, 07:25 AM   #1
mio
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy ncloth collision problem

Hi I'm working on this for a university project and I'm having trouble with the ncloth passive rigid obejct.

The cloth is sandwiched between two objects back and front. I want both objects to collide with the cloth, but at the moment only the back object is successfully colliding.

I have checked the normals on the front object and the geometry seems to have enough verts for a collision. I have tried turning up the damping.

Does anyone have any more suggestions?

thanks
Attached Thumbnails
 
mio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 08:06 AM   #2
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

When I was working on my movie I was having a simular problem but it really comes down to tweaking all the settings.

There was a small problem with ncloth in 8 and 8.5 where a attribute gets locked in ncloth with joints in the scene, and I had to get someone from Autodesk to send me some code. It meant that once the cloth was simulated once it would not perform it probably again if there was bones in the scene. I see from the screen shot that there is so give it a try

Here is the code (I saved this email) #

open the script editor ant type

getAttr -l time1.ihi

hit Enter... if the Result is "0" then the attribute is not locked.. if the result is "1" then type

setAttr -l 0 time1.ihi

to unlock it

hope it helps
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 10:07 AM   #3
mio
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by tweetytunes

open the script editor ant type

getAttr -l time1.ihi

hit Enter... if the Result is "0" then the attribute is not locked..

Thanks for your reply. I tried this code in the script editor but it doesn't return anything...does that mean the result is 0?

I'm trying to change various things in the scene i.e. trying the collision objects at different distances from the cloth to see if that is an issue, and just messing with the parameters for the nclothShape to see if anything helps. No joy as yet.

The collisions seem to fail when the obejcts get really close together.
mio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 10:15 AM   #4
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Have you tried simply faking it with a non-rendering poly object as the passive in place of your actual geo?

Also, just to make sure, the 2nd object you are trying to make passive, it is polys correct?

Let us know
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 03:51 PM   #5
mio
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile

I've tried lots of things now including replacing both passive rigids with non-rendered planes (if nothing else, this helped to get a clearer view of what's going on and rule out geometry issues)

It's not perfect yet, but what seems to have helped the most is in the rigidShape attribute box there's an option to display the collsion thickness. By tweaking the collison thickness for each object and moving the objects different distances apart I am finding that the ncloth is now coliding with both rigids.

I think ncloth doesn't much like being squashed between two rigids like this, but hopefully I can make it work now.

Thanks for your posts : )
mio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 08:17 PM   #6
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Sweet!

Good to know as I'm "POSSIBLY" starting work on an nCloth SM video this Sat. and during my tests I've noticed that same sort of problem.

I'll email Dunkan B. about it to see if he has anything to help us regarding that
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Tank track with ncloth daverave Work In Progress 94 08-01-2011 12:32 AM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.