Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-04-2008, 02:07 AM   #1
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default Graphics card info

where cann one find DETAILED info on gcards?
as u may know im thinking of buying a mac and i need to know how good the gcard is (can it do opengl 2 for example?)
the card in question is NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT graphics
ive been on nvidas site but it doesnt say much

its a mac book pro
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2008, 02:17 AM   #2
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

You must dig deeper
http://www.nvidia.com/object/geforce_8600M_fbs.html

Supports OGL 2.1
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2008, 02:20 AM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

You might have problems with maya and that card.

What DETAILED info do you want, processing speed, number of pipelines etc etc??

Looks like youve made your decision, but you can get a quadro in another manufacturers site in a laptop, which will work, no probs.

Have a search on Cgtalk as they had some posts on that.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2008, 02:31 AM   #4
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

?
another site? i thought only apple sells macs, or are u talking about pcs
how do you know i might have difficulties?
My brother has a NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT graphics card in his pc and maya works on that
but what difference does the M make
NVIDIA GeForce 8600(M) GT graphics
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2008, 02:35 AM   #5
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

The M is for Mobile, i.e it is for a laptop
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2008, 02:36 AM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Mobile I would think. As its rare to have a full desktop card in a laptop due to power requirements and hear transfer.

If you have a look on CGtalk people were having problems with the 8000 series cards with viewport errors etc etc, I think it was on PCs as they those cards wernt available for macs at the time, thats how I know you might have problems and as your going to use fusion you might get them depending on the settings used.

I think that thre were a few posts related to the 8000 Series cards on here too.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2008, 02:46 AM   #7
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

ok cheers
ill have to look in to that
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2008, 03:35 AM   #8
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

are you refering to the frame skipping issues or something more serious
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2008, 07:15 AM   #9
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Dunno, I remembered it when those cards first came out, your best off knowing about it and having a look yourself and then making a decision.

Also if its a mobile chipset you might be best off seeing if you can find anyone with a macbook and that card to see if theres any issues running it via bootcamp or VM ware, or nativly as its not a supported card for maya.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
where can i post info about 3D job openings? atadami Members Lounge 3 03-12-2010 10:51 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.