Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-04-2008, 06:13 AM   #1
Jo Wand
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 86
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default time to render?

Hi, Er... I'm just rendering my first animation set-up on my mac book pro. It seems to be taking a realy long time... I have waited about 20 mins and it has not completed the first frame... is this normal? Heres a picture of whats included in the scene so far... (oh and the penguin starts off too far back but I dont know how to start him from further forward... any suggestions?

Thanks
Attached Files
File Type: ma 20-lightseffects_03.ma (176.3 KB, 13 views)
__________________
www.jowand.com
Jo Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2008, 06:14 AM   #2
Jo Wand
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 86
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default wrong file...

this one!
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
www.jowand.com
Jo Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2008, 06:28 AM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Hi Jo

Not too sure what the scene was that you posted up, its referencing files so I only get the light set up.

The render time all depends on what your settings are, are you using a high Anti aliasing setting? Raytraced shadows, Mental ray with all the bells and whistles on, how heavys the geo etc etc? So 20 mins (depending on your machine and settings) might be about right, make sure if your comp has multi cores that use all avialable porcessors is on.

Theres a neat little trick you can pull to make maya render without being loaded up (but alas i'm not too sure it works on a mac but might be worth a go) all you do is right click your file and select render, off it goes rendering, this speeds up a render no end.

You can also render form the command line, and from a text file but again I only know how to do this in windows, and again this renders without maya being open.

Theres also a few other tricks etc, but as I'm not too sure if its something easy to fix in your scene its a bit hard to suggest something.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2008, 07:58 AM   #4
Jo Wand
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 86
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, I'll do a bit of research into it.
__________________
www.jowand.com
Jo Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.