Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-05-2008, 12:14 AM   #1
adamranders
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default help rendering for still composite

ok so i have a scene with a car model, a curved plane for the floor/backwall, and a sphere with a HDR image on it for lighting and such, i'm trying to render it so that the floor/backwall and the sphere aren't there so i can composite it over a preexisting image in PS. i need the lighting and reflection info from the sphere but not it visibility it the background, and i need the shadows on the floor but again not it's visability anywhere, i'm running maya 2008, any help would be awsome thanks in advance
adamranders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 01:33 AM   #2
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

have you tried a 'use background' shader on the floor?
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 08:56 AM   #3
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

What Neo said..

Or use render layers and composite each layer into photoshop for adjustment
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 09:02 AM   #4
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Select the objects you do NOT want to see in your final render, and in the attribute editor for each object, turn off "Primary Visibility".

The objects will still contribute to the scene, cast shadows, color, etc, but they will not render in the render view or the batch renderer.
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 09:43 AM   #5
adamranders
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok thanks for the responses, i turned off the primary vis and rendered and got the car with the alpha everywhere else now i just need the shawow pass, how would i go about doing that, i'm assuming layers but i have never used the render layers how would i set up to just render the shadows?
adamranders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 01:10 PM   #6
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

use background

if you apply that shader to the floor it won't be rendered, but it'll still receive the shadow from the car or surroundings and it will also create the alpha for that shadow for compositing later on.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.

Last edited by NeoStrider : 07-05-2008 at 01:22 PM.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 09:31 PM   #7
adamranders
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

does the use background shader not work without lights, cus when i render with MR & FG it doesn't seem to be working, it's still there visibly and no alpha mask
adamranders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 09:20 AM   #8
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

ya know, i'm not sure... i've never used 'use background' for non maya software renders.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.