Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-05-2008, 12:40 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problem with NURBs booleans

*What's the problem?

I have attempted to use a boolean to cut out part of a NURB cylinder, however it will not do anything. I don't have the problem if I use polygons but polygons aren't supported by the system the model will be used in.

*What happened when the problem occured?

Absolutely Nothing, unfortunately, not even an error message.

*What were you doing when the problem arose?

Trying to use boolean difference command (then all of the other boolean commands just to check)

*What are your system specs?

4GB RAM, 3.0GHz (x4) processor, 1GB VRAM, Windows Vista Ultimate

*What version of Maya are you using?

Maya 8.5 Unlimited

Any ideas as to what I can doot fix this? Maybe a MEL script to solve the problem?

Last edited by Silent.Samurai : 07-05-2008 at 01:23 PM.
Silent.Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 01:53 PM   #2
Posts: n/a

You can't use booleans on NURBS.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 02:31 PM   #3
Registered User
NeoStrider's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

if you need to remove a section of a nurbs cylinder, perform a trim.

at the objects' intersection you can project a curve on surface (from the other object) and then proceed with the trim.
Accept no substitutions.

Last edited by NeoStrider : 07-05-2008 at 02:42 PM.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

Thread Tools

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.