Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-01-2003, 12:22 PM   #1
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Converting sub-d's to polys

When creating af poly cube and converting to sub-d's with proxy object as "surface mode", I have a slight problem aften modelling and converting back to poly. I cant get rid of the original proxy object which still surrounding the new poly. It becomes a problem when shading the object...

Does anyone know the solution to this problem...?

Kühl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2003, 03:17 PM   #2
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I don't have Maya Unlimited, so I don't know a thing about Sub-divs, but maybe try turning the proxy surface thing off before converting?
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2003, 07:20 PM   #3
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have tried that, but it doesn't seem to work. I wonder if there are any others who are modelling in sub-d's with proxy who can help ?
__________________
Kühl
Kühl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2003, 11:20 PM   #4
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh... silly questian afterall. After wathing a video-tut i realized that one of the main features when modelling with sub-d's is the easy changing from "standard" to "polygon" and vise versa.

The solution was simply to right-click the body and choose standard. The proxy dissapear... and then you have your perfect smoothed body.

I hope its legally to answer your own questions in this forum
Kühl is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.