Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-05-2008, 04:10 AM   #1
bilalbajwa2336
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Blinking lights?

How to make blinking small button shaped lights?
bilalbajwa2336 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2008, 04:35 AM   #2
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

make the lights, apply a shader, and animate the shader.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2008, 10:55 AM   #3
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

key the intensity of the light
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2008, 11:46 AM   #4
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You can either apply a runtime expression to the lights intensity so you don't have to key the intensity, or,

apply a couple of keyframes to the intensity and in the graph editor go to 'curves' > 'post infinity' > 'cycle'.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2008, 02:20 PM   #5
bilalbajwa2336
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question

Thanks a lot guys for replying.

What type of light should i use?
bilalbajwa2336 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2008, 08:57 PM   #6
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

That all depends on the size and type of button, if your talking about little LED's then I would probably set keyframes on the material's glow intensity rather than using lights, however if its somthing a little larger you can probably use either point, spot or small volume lights.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2008, 10:43 PM   #7
bilalbajwa2336
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the reply. Now it perfectly makes sense.:attn: :attn: :attn: :attn: :attn: :attn: :attn: :attn: :attn: :attn:
bilalbajwa2336 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2008, 01:39 PM   #8
clebo99
Registered User
 
clebo99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Question,

I tried to keyframe the intensity of the light and it wasn't working. Any thoughts on why? Is here anything special I need to do to keyframe non-movement attributes of objects/lights/etc?

Chris, Baltimore.
clebo99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2008, 02:21 PM   #9
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Not really sure what the issue is with your keying as it is a fairly simple item to key.

Just choose an intensity, right click, set key, go forward in the timeslider, choose a different intensity, right click, set key. Etc..

Hope you get it working,

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2008, 09:22 PM   #10
clebo99
Registered User
 
clebo99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That worked. Right clicking on the intensity and doing the set key worked. I didn't realize I had to right click and set the key that way. Worked like a charm.

Thanks!!!!!!
clebo99 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.