Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-06-2008, 08:45 PM   #1
Brett18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default render size

Hey I'm currently on a games development course and my current project is to create a room interior animation. i've created the animation with cameras lighting etc and it's ready to render out. so i set the render size to 640 x 480, and got it all ready. but for some reason all my frames are coming out at 640 x 240. i keep trying to get them out at 640 x 480 but it's always in some kind of widescreen. when i made the height larger it rendered out at something like 900 x 300.
please could someone helep me, i could really do with having the scene rendered before monday.
Brett18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 12:51 AM   #2
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

It sounds like a res problem, what is the image resolution in the render globals?

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 01:12 AM   #3
Brett18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Render Globals? is that the same as the render settings?
my settings are set at 72 ppi
sorry if that's not global. if it isn't could you please, tell me how to find it.
thank you sooooo much!
Brett18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 01:36 AM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Render globals and render settings are the same thing, they just renamed it in later versions.


defaults...
Attached Thumbnails
 
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 01:50 AM   #5
Brett18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks, my settings are set at that
i've given up and just opened another file and imported the animation .mb into it and it's working fine, minus the lights, which are easily replaceable. is there any other downside to doing this?

thanks for all your help!
Brett18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 01:52 AM   #6
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

This means your film gate is most likely different than your resolution gate.

An easy, albeit inaccurate, way to fix it fast with one click, is to turn on "Ignore res gate"

This usually happens when the resulution and/or focal length get changed when folks are trying out different lens-looks, and resolutions etc.

Happens to all of us
No big deal

Good luck!

PS: I moved this to the right forum as well
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.