Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-06-2008, 04:34 AM   #1
lewis1607
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default selecting only one object?

Hi,

Is there anybody that can help me?

I am working through the spitfire tutorial and I can see that it is possible to work on one particular object whilst other objects are shown. Each time I try to select just the one object (for example-selecting vertices) the other objects become selected too. Can anybody explain how to avoid this?
lewis1607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 05:11 AM   #2
ExtrudedDingus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

There are a coupleways to do it.. I'm a noob too.. so I will just do my best to help you until someone else can help you more..

One way to do it is to make different layers in the layer editor and then make the other stuff references or templates..

Another way to do it is to go up on the top.. there are some buttons that allow ou to mask certain objects.. like vertices or whatnot. So maybe look for "mask" in the index of the help guide in Maya.


Wish I could help more.. but maybe that will help you enough until someone helps more.

Last edited by ExtrudedDingus : 09-06-2008 at 05:13 AM.
ExtrudedDingus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 09:53 AM   #3
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

a vertice is not an object.., so makes a bad example.., its an element of one.., an object is made of vertices connected together.., making edges.., edges are connected together to make faces.., faces are connected together to make objects.

are you using polys or nurbs..??

you could be in hull mode, there could be many reasons for this.., if you do a screen grab and load it onto this thread.., me or someone will give you a definitive answer.


ExtrudedDingus has given you good advice none the less.., all good
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 01:42 AM   #4
lewis1607
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Thanks for the response but I have now find exactly what I was looking for. I need to go into the preferences drop down menu and then select selection. A box of options appears and the check box marked "ignore selection priority" needs to be unchecked.
lewis1607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 03:02 AM   #5
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

wow, thats a new one on me??
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 04:24 AM   #6
ExtrudedDingus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That sounds interesting, I will have to check that out!
ExtrudedDingus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 05:03 AM   #7
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

so do i.., when i can find the 'preferences drop down menu???'

now im intrigued..,

all good
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.