Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-06-2008, 12:48 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default Particles in Mental RAy


about to start some minor particle work for the first time for uni. After a bit of googling I've discovered that there were issues rendering these in previous versions of maya/mental ray.

Just wanted to ask before I start if these have been resolved (using 2008) or if there's anything I should be aware of.


gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2008, 12:55 PM   #2
gster123's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts

Not that I know of, they render fine in 08 IMHO
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2008, 01:10 PM   #3
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts


got myself a tutorial on making cigarette smoke (what I'm trying to achieve) so I'll give it a shot over the weekend and see what I can come up with.

If anyone feels like sharing any advice or pointers feel free!

gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2008, 03:56 PM   #4
alexanderH's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

I've got to be honest I havn't done a lot to mess around with particles and such in Maya. But I have watched some of the instruction in my class and they always seem to render them out in Maya Hardware (as this is VERY quick) and then composite them into the project as this can be none in near realtime and you can give em any effects you like.

Now keep in mind when you render in harware you get whatever colour dots the emiiter spits out but it seems to be rather easy to get a number of looks out of them in After Effects (for example) with just a few tweaks and effects.
Peace, love and Anarchy~~~~~~~
Full House Project
Arch Viz Reel

My Website is Finally Back up!

“Welcome to the Internet. Where the men are men, the women are men, and the children are FBI agents.”
alexanderH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2008, 06:10 PM   #5
Super Moderator
ragecgi's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts

Yes, up to v7.5 there were major limitations on certain particle render types in the version of MR that shipped with Maya during those releases.

Such as no particle motion blur, to some particle types not rendering in MR at all.

Most of those limitations have now been eliminated as of v8 & 8.5.

Also, I have moved this thread to the correct forum, as I can better help you from there/here if needed.

Feel free to post any issues or questions you have and I'll help you as soon as I see your post
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.