Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-06-2008, 05:27 PM   #1
ladonis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Can't See Any Colour

Ok..so im new at this (have Maya 8.5) and im reading this book that walks me through creating a solar system. I have searched for 3 days for a solution, so now im asking you guys. Now my problem is that even after adding the hypershade to all the planets, they all appear grey in my scene. when i render the frame they are all coloured properly, but not in my display. I have Smooth Shade all selected and everything. And when nothing is clicked they are all white. Is there a way to view everything in colour? thanx. (ps. its a lambert hypershade)
ladonis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2008, 05:40 PM   #2
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Press 6 on your keyboard.
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2008, 05:45 PM   #3
ladonis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

tried that. didn't work. lol
ladonis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2008, 05:50 PM   #4
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

I thing you have to go in to shading, hardware texturing- option box and try changing some of the settings

if that doesnt work i have no idea

it might be a lighting problem but im just shooting in the dark here

Last edited by elephantinc : 14-06-2008 at 05:56 PM.
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2008, 05:56 PM   #5
ladonis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lol. so it was a lighting problem. i went to lighting and chose "use no lights" instead of default lighting and the colours showed up. thanx!
ladonis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2008, 06:24 PM   #6
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Wow what a geuss

now if only i could solve my own problems that easily......
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.