Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-06-2008, 12:13 AM   #1
rickibarnes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Increase subdivisions around cylinder axis AFTER create?

I have a sphere made of "dots" - which are just cylinders that don't have any depth to them - kind of like circular planes. When I first made this, I was happy to keep the default amount of subdivisions around the cylinder axis (20), because I wasn't planning on getting too close to them.

Now I am using the same model in a different animation, and I need to get quite close to the cylinders - and unfortunately you can notice that they're not completely round.

So what I want to do is just add to the geometry, and crank the number of subdivisions around the axis up so my "dots" look properly round. But this is the problem - I cannot work out how to do that. Can anyone tell me if there is a way that I can add to the number of subdivisions? I really, really want to avoid having to do it again, as it took a very long time in the first place.

Any advice or suggestions much appreciated!
rickibarnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2008, 12:26 AM   #2
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Hi,

Providing you haven't deleted the history on the object it's easy to adjust the properties of a primative object.

Simply select the desired object then, in the input panel on the right, click on the object name to open it's properties and adjust whichever one attribute you need to.

However.... if you have already deleted the objects history then these attributes will no longer be available.

hope that helps,

Mat.
__________________
Click here to visit my site
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2008, 01:11 AM   #3
rickibarnes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Do you mean in the attribute editor? I have looked in there but can't seem to see anything about number of subdivisions.

I don't know about the object's history, I would think maybe it was gone. I made the model over a year ago, I can't really remember what I did/didn't do at that time.
rickibarnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2008, 03:01 AM   #4
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

the input panel is part of the channel box to the right of the work area.

I've highlighted the inputs of the cylinder in green. If you've deleted the history the inputs will only show from after that.

Mat.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Click here to visit my site
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2008, 03:50 PM   #5
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

from memory, if you create an object.., then duplicate it.., the options Matt has given are not available except to the original., and only if the history was not deleted.

M
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2008, 09:14 PM   #6
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

That's right Mirek good point.

But.....

If you duplicate as an instance any adjustments you make to the original will affect the copies. Once again this is providing the history has not been deleted.

Mat.
__________________
Click here to visit my site
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2008, 10:17 PM   #7
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

equally good point and handy to know.., thats why i frequent this forum..,

i bet its a shock out of uni.., i couldnt come down of the 'non stop work' thing and in a fit of mid-education-mid-life crisis.., i went to another college.., in ways i wish i had of taken 12 months off to reflect.., think about it if you cam (i know you have responsabilities0 hope you are finding to to relax.

M
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.