Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-07-2008, 09:19 AM   #1
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default XP SP2 problem

I know it's not really related (it does answer to 'just about anything' and to 'no politics and religion' ) but I don't know good tech support forums... (I'd love to hear some suggestions)

I think it has something to do with the explorer.
I have a problem, usually happens after I close a window, in which the desktop goes blank (just the wallpaper remains - start bar, icons and everything else disappears until I reboot.

the programs currently open still work but sometimes in a weird way (internet connection problems usually).

somebody knows what this is about? How can I fix it? Where else can I ask?

Thanks in advance,
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 10:54 AM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

This is an Explorer problem, although I don't suffer myself with it but it is related to Ram.You can install FreeRam XP which reclaims ram from apps that are closed and this pretty much cures the problem.
Another thing you can do although this is not a cure but it might help a little, instead of rebooting you can open up the Task Manager by right clicking on the taskbar, then in the Task Manager selecting the explorer.exe and End Process.Then in the Applications tab of the Task Manager hit New Task and type explorer.exe to restart the desktop.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 11:27 AM   #3
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Thank, I'll try it firs thing when explorer crashes again...
I already heard this trick from a friend just without ending the process first and it didn't work to well...
I'll check this FreeRam XP stuff out later, since I ought to go now...
thanks again
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 06:27 PM   #4
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

John has hit the nail squarley on the head and has managed a Karate Kid 2 on it...

Your Windows Explorer is Crashing... I would do what John is sayng, but I would also Install SP3 sooner rather than later.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 12:28 AM   #5
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I'm afraid installing SP3 might cause more harm then good... I had lots of problems when upgrading to SP2 as well :headbang: . Well, I guess I might just take that risk...

BTW, this thread isn't really 'Maya software' related as well. That's why I didn't post it here in the first place

Thanks again
Benny

EDIT: Oo, and do all of you guys know each other by names ?
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)

Last edited by BennyK : 08-07-2008 at 12:30 AM.
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 05:32 AM   #6
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

I know Jay (Jason) a little, Gster (Steve) and jsprogg (John). I chat regularly with Steve and John on msn...
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.