Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 11-07-2008, 08:55 AM   #1
scopa
Registered User
 
scopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Manipulator problem

hello, so I have been working on a mesh for a while, and I must have done something wrong, because the manipulator tool is now SLIGHTLY rotated. I have attached a picture which I hope explains the situation.

basically you can see how the rotation axis is slightly off, but the channel box shows 0's.

then I move the origin to the edge (which is lined up perfectly) and duplicate with -1 X, and I end up with a duplicate that is rotated!

Any ideas?
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
"On the other hand... the early worm gets eaten."
scopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 10:47 AM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

did you freeze transformations and then delete history?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2008, 05:32 AM   #3
scopa
Registered User
 
scopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yep, I actually ended up just rebuilding the mesh from scratch, that was faster than trying to figure out the problem. i guess its just a lesson in "backup often and save multiple versions"
__________________
"On the other hand... the early worm gets eaten."
scopa is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.