Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 17-07-2008, 01:34 PM   #1
evild00er
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Overriding protection

I am a new maya user, coming from blender. In blender, if you remove a critical vertex or line, the program allows you to do so and rebuild the faces as you like. However in maya I keep getting messages that "border edges cannot be deleted" and "Warning: Some selected vertices have complex edge attachment; Delete Edge/Vertex removes selected vertices and related edges // ". Is there a way to stop these protective protocols from being activated so I can remove whatever I want without having to remove the connecting faces and edges individually first?

As a side note how do you use the selection box to only select visible faces, lines and vertices without selecting the ones behind them?
evild00er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2008, 03:41 PM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Don't know about your first issue, can't really say that I've needed to delete those and come to think of it, I don't know how Maya can define a surface thats missing border edges :x Maybe someone else has a solution.

Your second issue, turn on backface culling, select the object, Display>Polygons>Backface Culling, there are also option for this right beneath that. If you use it enough you might want to assign it to a hotkey or something. If you turn it on in the prefs it'll affect all your poly geometry upon creation (which personally I find annoying as hell).
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2008, 04:17 PM   #3
evild00er
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for that. Another quick thing, when bridging how do you adjust the number of objects it creates? I keep getting faces with half a dozen lines through them meaining bunches of extra vertices and triangles.
evild00er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2008, 06:30 PM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Check the options the 'Divisions' value controls how much geometry will be added, also you can change this even after you do the operation (if you have construction history on) just go to the channel editor and you can find the bridge operation in the objects history.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.