Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-07-2008, 01:35 AM   #1
Jim
Registered User
 
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Saving preferences problem??

Hi there,

I'm attempting to save my preferences in Maya 2008 extension pack 2 but am unable to save them. i.e I save the preferences, then when I open Maya again it has resorted back to default prefs.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated

regards

Jim
__________________
Mayan elder......only in years.....
Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2008, 02:29 AM   #2
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

which preferences are giving you trouble.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2008, 02:31 AM   #3
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Someone else was having a problem with that not that long ago I remember seeing the thread. Might want to do a forum search.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2008, 03:31 AM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

if it doesn't take I just open Maya and set it the way I want it and then go delete the user Preferences.Mel and then when you close Maya it will make a new file.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2008, 03:52 AM   #5
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

I believe that the freely downloadable Service Pack 1 update for Maya 2008 addresses this.

....I could be wrong, so read the release notes
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2008, 04:06 AM   #6
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

the main problems i had with this was the settings.., changing it to PAL, and fps, ect.., i did it in the ..,open/file.., options and have not had a problem since?
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2008, 03:26 PM   #7
Jim
Registered User
 
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your replies!!!

Still no luck however, could you elaborate on how to change on open file options mirek03

Thanks

Jim
__________________
Mayan elder......only in years.....
Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2008, 06:29 PM   #8
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

i suspect that may be your problem?? bugged me for years.., seems America forgot there are other places in the world using different systems.., ect.., excuse my rant

when you open a new scene you are presented with an option box.., took me years to even see it.., but these pictures should be self explanatory.., if not let me know
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 10:58 PM   #9
Jim
Registered User
 
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you sir

regards

Jim
__________________
Mayan elder......only in years.....
Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 12:31 AM   #10
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

no problem dude
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 05:01 AM   #11
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

hey Jim you are an Adelaide boy too, always cool to help a local
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.