Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 01-08-2008, 09:52 PM   #1
dubai3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default maya texturing+photoshop (need help)

hi you,

need bit help to find out how can I make this texture in photo shop , it is very silly question, but sometime silly questions help me and others as well. it is basic photoshop

this has been made with CorelDraw (dont have experience)
drawing the reticle lines
now how can I create this reticle line in photo shop ?
I know you know that, so can you share your brain with me please,

look at the image and say something please,
any link or tutorials from photoshop?
love read the tutorials with cup of coffee,
Attached Thumbnails
 
dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 11:49 PM   #2
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Hi,

if you can't see the line tool in your photoshop tool box, right click on the shape icon and a sub-menu will appear then select Line Tool. In the attached image, I've highlighted the relevant menu items.

Once you've got the line tool selected it's case of left click and drag on the canvas to make a line. The line attributes, weight, colour etc. are at the top of the screen.

hope that helps,

Mat
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Click here to visit my site
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 01:21 PM   #3
dubai3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

thanks man . I know this line. what about corner of rectangles?
need create smooth corner as well. this line are just stright.
I try with shape , doesnt work really , more idee?

Last edited by dubai3d : 02-08-2008 at 01:25 PM.
dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 02:42 PM   #4
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

i haven't used those tools that happymat27 shows in that picture, but it looks like there is that rounded rectangle

try that

if that doesn't do what you want then try using the pen tool
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 05:51 PM   #5
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

might try

create your square
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 05:52 PM   #6
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

while the rectangle tool is selected you will see, refine edges.., red lines

press that and play about.., i just found out now.., so if you mess about with this.., you will find out too
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 11:49 AM   #7
dubai3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

thanks guys, but you guys still didn't get my point, I am not looking for square shape, i am looking for square line, only the lines not the shape, I try that before, but what about yellow color? yes it is right, just with paint bucket, than how do I keep the line?

thanks a lot guys, it looks very simple and silly question, but I am using this tool a lot, so i need find out what is the best way,

any more smart guys around here, please remember we talk about line not shapes.

thanks guys, waiting for respond
dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 11:52 AM   #8
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

from the yellow pic.., do a copy and paste.., you can transform scale as needed. (help files do help )
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 12:55 PM   #9
dubai3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

doesn't work and it is too long to create simple line.
dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 02:58 PM   #10
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

eeeeh?

i don't understand your question now

first you were asking about how to draw lines which happymat27 told you where the tool was

then you ask about how to draw rounded rectangles which both me and merik03 told you (two different ways as well)

if you're not after rounded rectangles or lines then what...?

you know when you draw a line it gets put onto a new layer right? you know you can merge layers too right? short cut key is Shift+Ctrl+E
i don't see any faster way of drawing a line other than drawing a line... click the start point, dragging the cursor (sometimes holding down shift to keep the line in a fixed angle) and letting go
how can you get any faster than that?

to copy and paste you just use Ctrl+c and Ctrl+v, or if you're using mac i think its the stupid symbol + c and stupid symbol + v

and whatever you paste will be put onto a new layer
Ctrl+T to transform, if when you hit the short-cut key for the move tool or click the move tool the "Show Transform Controls" is not checked
then push ctrl+e to merge the layer down (or ctrl+shift+e to merge all visible layers)


how much experience do you have with photoshop? you know about the tools and layers right?

sorry if i sound rude in this post... i dont mean to
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 04:47 PM   #11
dubai3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

I said rounded rectangles line not shape, you explain the shape for me, I said thanks but i am looking for line not shape, please look at the image, there is alot of line not shape, (looks like shape but they are lines)

thanks for your help
dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 04:49 PM   #12
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

right

use the pen tool

its the only way i can think of to get you round lines.




to clarify, the pen tool will create points like the EP and CV curve tool in Maya (i forget which one its more like), they will have anchors which you can move around and you can make a rounded line with that.

if you were already using the pen tool then i dont think i can offer any faster way of doing it. remember if you hold down shift and push a shortcut key for a tool it will get the next tool that's assigned to that shortcut. At least i think it's shift...

anyway, you could copy paste the rounded rectangle lines and just erase what you dont need, but that's probably more effort than the pen tool
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D

Last edited by Chirone : 03-08-2008 at 04:55 PM.
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 05:18 PM   #13
dubai3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

thanks for your help, I try your way, it is great and helps a lot, still I am looking for easy way to draw this line, thanks again and again, you are very helpful guy. and i am sorry that I stress you out about this question, but you know if you working with Maya and texturing, any help is useful,

Last edited by dubai3d : 03-08-2008 at 05:23 PM.
dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 05:20 PM   #14
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

all good :nod:
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 05:24 PM   #15
dubai3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

no problemo
Attached Thumbnails
 
dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.