Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 11-08-2008, 06:22 AM   #1
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default your thoughts on good animation/rigging practice

i just got told that it's considerd bad practice to directly skin a model to a skeleton.

so just binding a mesh to a skeleton is bad

the reasoning was that if you end up changing the mesh later on then you'd have to slightly adjust a few weight, if lucky, otherwise you'd have to rebind everything, if not so lucky

i haven't seen an animation tutorials before but i thought skinning the model onto the skeleton was the only way to do it...

how would you do it in a way so that if you change the model you dont have to play with the weights?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 09:40 AM   #2
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Well, I usually just bind the mesh to the skeleton, and if the model needs changing later on. I decided whether it's that important, that I want to re-bind the model... Yeah thats probably bad practice, but I'm not an animator... yet. When I rig a model it's only for posing.

Though if I were in a production setting. I would most likely keep the Model away from the skeleton as long as possible.
I would rig a Dummy with my skeleton, and do all my animation with it, and when the time came. I would bind the actual model to the Animated skeleton. This is what allot of people do, So guess it works well.
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 11:49 AM   #3
sspikedudley
Subscriber
 
sspikedudley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 344
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

By the time you get to the rigging stage you should have all the modeling portion signed off anyway (in a production environment)
If you have one mesh to rig, for example a human which is all one piece of geo, then I would say just go ahead and do a normal bind.

If the model is broken up into sections and is extremely complex, like for example a robot or similar. Then I would group the sections (like right leg, left leg etc) together and do a parent constrain to the joints, this will simply make it easier for searching through a hypergraph.
sspikedudley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 02:00 AM   #4
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Originally posted by sspikedudley
By the time you get to the rigging stage you should have all the modeling portion signed off anyway (in a production environment)
that's a pretty good point. I'm sure i can trust the word of a freelancer on that

but what happens if the boss later decides he wants a few drastic changes?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 04:20 PM   #5
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Wrap deformer?

FTW
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2008, 02:29 AM   #6
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

whats that laurie, any good? sounds pro though lol :p
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2008, 02:34 AM   #7
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

i see your profile says your occupation in animation, Laurie... feel free to share your coolness
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2008, 02:52 AM   #8
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

lol, a wrap deformer is like a lattice but you define the cage yourself with geometry.

So lets say you have a high res character that continually requires updates and changes frequently. Now rather than binding this mesh to the joints directly, a lower poly version of the character that has been modified to fit around the high res character can be bound tothe joints, then a wrap deformer can be used to have the low res bound mesh drive the high res mesh.

look it up in the help docs, for details on usage. It saves huge time on skinning since you dont have to deal with the details, and when you make changes to the high res sculpt there is far less work to do.
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2008, 03:46 AM   #9
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

wow sounds like a pretty neat opition...
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any thoughts on http://www.vfx-recruit.com? gubar Members Lounge 2 07-12-2010 10:28 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.