Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 11-08-2008, 12:13 PM   #1
Midorini
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Need help with a problem

I'm sorry if this has been asked before but here I go.

Is there anyway to get back the default options, so the program is like when you just installed it? Because I was just looking around in the program and BAAM! I accidentally removed some of the original menus by mistake. And because I'd just starting to use the program, I didn't know what to do (and still don't). So yeah, I need your help (as the newbie I am).

So in conclusion: Is there a fast way to restore everything to the default mode?
Midorini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 12:25 PM   #2
sspikedudley
Subscriber
 
sspikedudley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 344
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you can restore by deleting your prefs folder inside your documents in the maya folder.

Something like My documents -> Maya -> version number

Or if you have simply hidden something like the tool bar or the animation stuff along the bottom, you can get them back by right clicking on these icons:

Then simply select what is unticked.
There are these icons next to each tool bar, and when clicked will hide that section in order to help customize your UI.
sspikedudley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 12:42 PM   #3
Midorini
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for such a fast and helpful response. It all works now. I really appreciate it:bow:.



Edit: I feel stupid for asking another question so soon. But here it goes.

When you use the scale, move and rotate tool. What is it that makes out were the things you move, rotate and scale with is (the arrows etc)? Because, sometimes the arrow (or box/circle) things are in a completely different location. And yes I know that I'm the cause of that . But back to the point and my question(s).

Why does they appear in different locations sometimes, so it's really hard to for an example; scale in place?

And how do I change so they appear were my object is?

Last edited by Midorini : 11-08-2008 at 01:57 PM.
Midorini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 02:16 PM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

That happens because the pivot point was moved, you can center it on the object by going to Modify>Center Pivot. Or you can hit insert on the keyboard to manually move/snap it to where you need it to be.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 02:55 PM   #5
Midorini
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, I got it to work now . Starting to learn Maya bit for bit, but still has a LONG way to go.

Edit: I feel so pathetic for asking so many questions. But which format and other options are the best one to use when you publish/render the "movie", and you want it in a working format for watching it in video players like VLC? I use 8.0, if that matters .

Edit 2: Tried with .avi, and it worked good. So will stick with that unless someone gives me an advice to use another one.

Last edited by Midorini : 11-08-2008 at 04:56 PM.
Midorini is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.