Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-08-2008, 01:35 PM   #1
Muhammad Ali Faisal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question I need help to animate like fade object to full

Hello MindMasters,

I have a problem that i want to share with you. I want to make an animation which i want to start nothing then faded and then full model. Means in start its look transparent from one side and then it would be shaded from one side to another then it will be complete model.
Is there any idea to make this animation?

Thanks in advance....
Faisal
Muhammad Ali Faisal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2008, 03:26 PM   #2
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Try by lower the transperancy to 0 then lets say in 25 frame move the transperancy up and so on and so on ... if i understand you correctly what you want
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2008, 07:39 PM   #3
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

keyframe the alpha values of your materials

i'm assuming oyu know where the transparency is for the materials and that by right clicking you can bring up the context menu which has an option to keyframe it
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2008, 11:23 AM   #4
Muhammad Ali Faisal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thanks Big brothers but....

Brother Thooth, you are right but i want to animate transperency from one side to another means one corner first visible then it will be continued till the last corner.

And Brother Chirone, where i find Alpha of a material plese brief me. Thank you very much.

Ali Faisal
Muhammad Ali Faisal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2008, 03:08 PM   #5
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

i currently don't have access to Maya but once i do i'll tell you (unless someone beats me to it)

but just a few more questions...

is your model a single mesh? or does it have lots of seperated parts to it?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2008, 03:34 PM   #6
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default Re: Thanks Big brothers but....

Originally posted by Muhammad Ali Faisal
Brother Thooth, you are right but i want to animate transperency from one side to another means one corner first visible then it will be continued till the last corner.

And Brother Chirone, where i find Alpha of a material plese brief me. Thank you very much.

Ali Faisal
Brother tooth :lmao: :lmao:
Well , i've tried some things but not workin. Ii will be watching this to learn how to do this ...
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2008, 08:37 PM   #7
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Alpha is another word that gets used for transparency in graphics

to bring up the material attributes you can either do it from the hypershade
or you can select the object with the material
hold down right click, and let go on "Material Attribute..."

you'll see under Common Material Attributes a value for Transparency (circled in red), just move the slider (circled in green) from one end to the other and just right click on the square (in this screen shot its the black box in the middle of my coloured circles) and hit Set Key

then just go to another frame, and do the same


of course, using this method means you will see the entire object appear all at once.
it wasn't too clear from your original post if this was what you were after or not
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2008, 08:45 PM   #8
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

however if you're wanting to fade in something from one corner of the mesh to another
then you can do this by connecting a ramp to the transparency and set the key on the ramp's colour's positions

if this is the effect you wanted then i'll explain more detail
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2008, 09:11 PM   #9
Muhammad Ali Faisal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thanks I got it Chirone....

Thank you very much, I got it as per you said.

"You can do this by connecting a ramp to the transparency and set the key on the ramp's colour's positions"

Thank you very much again for help me for this ...

Muhammad Ali Fasial
Muhammad Ali Faisal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2008, 10:05 PM   #10
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

no worries dude, i didn't actually know how to do this myself, but i had a fair idea on how it would be done

i did check to make sure i knew what i was talking about though! :p
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 01:23 AM   #11
nick2181
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well instead of starting another topic, I thought I would piggy back off of this one. I have a model with various textures, how do I fade the entire model in and out without having to do each texture 1 by 1? I can select visibility on or off, but I want to gradually fade it.

I can't really edit it in post, as the scene will be moving and it won't be static.

edit: I was reading up on other posts, and Moderator Alan stated to setup a driven key. Then connect them all to 1 attribute, how do I do that? I am going to google it, and if I don't get back that means for some reason I can't find out how.

Edit: Ok, I found out how to do it. Setting a driven key does work, but it still does not fade it. By moving the Driver it just makes the object completely disappear, and does not do a fade effect.

Any help would be great,
Thanks
nick

Last edited by nick2181 : 10-06-2016 at 02:19 AM.
nick2181 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.