Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-08-2008, 09:41 PM   #1
tmujuru
Registered User
 
tmujuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default room interior design

i have modelled my cartoon guy doing shopping and i now want add details like shop walls so tha he is in a (room) shop. i want to put the inside shop walls . how do i do it ?
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
keep moving 4ward
tmujuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2008, 10:15 PM   #2
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

it's as easy as making a large cube that goes around everything and then putting the camera (and lights) on the inside...

what did you do, choose to render with like 4 colors? i don't think i've seen a render look worse.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2008, 12:14 AM   #3
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Lol Neo, you're so blunt. On a serious note though, even if you save it as a gif for web reasons, you shouldn't loose that much detail, an size optimized jpeg would do just fine because I checked and this file is 107 kb, why? I don't know. You need to look into image compression, it'll suck putting effort into your work and you can't show anyone.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2008, 01:05 AM   #4
tmujuru
Registered User
 
tmujuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

its my first render and i love being criticised coz it will make me push harder.i did the cube and i want the cube to be seen from inside not outside. from inside so that my guy is in the shop.
__________________
keep moving 4ward
tmujuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2008, 02:51 AM   #5
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

scale the cube so it surrounds the guy and shelves then zoom in your render camera so it's inside the cube and also make sure your lights are inside the cube.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2008, 04:46 AM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Cant remember, but wouldent you need to reverse the normals and turn on backface culling to make it easier to work with?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2008, 05:11 AM   #7
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Like gster said, reverse the normals. You might want to make only half a cube (delete faces you don't render) so your camera won't have to be inside it all the time.

BTW, tmujuru and GecT, to post full quality work you can just use image hostiing. I use imageshack.us and it works fine with 1.5MB size restriction wich I never reach.
It has some scaling problems with png format, jpeg works fine).
I feel like I'm advertising it too much. They're going to have to start paying me soon .

Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2008, 06:01 AM   #8
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

You could start with the cube and make sure all the scene elements are inside like mentioned, also, I'd start extracting faces so that the ceiling, walls and floor are different geometry.

@ BennyK, yeah I'm aware of imageshack, photobucket etc, I use them from time to time, I said that because 1. Knowing how to optimize images will make you better off in the long run. 2. The 200k limit SM has is actually quite enough for posting even a large resolution image (assuming you're using Photoshop) the 'optimize to file size' option is really really handy.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.