Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-08-2008, 03:09 AM   #1
shunter
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default constraints and locators

Hello;

I am in the process of trying to use point constraints and locators. I have created 5 objects.
Above and to the center I have created a single locator attached to another object that acts as a crane. Each object on the ground also has a locator attached to it. I have added a point constraint to each object on the ground including one to the crane up above. I am using Maya 8.5. My problem is that I am unable to keyframe these objects. When I put a keyframe at 1 and move to 20 to move the crane down to the object and attach it via the constraint then keyframe the object to the crane, instead of the object attaching itself to the Crane at 20, the object is already moving itself towards the crane from frame 1. Even if I add an extra key in front of the keyframe added as the pick up it will not work. In other words the object is not sticking to the ground. I also work in 3d Max and all I would have to do is attach and release a set planted key. Pleeease help. I really want to learn this.

Thanks, Suzanne Hunter:headbang:
shunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2008, 06:31 AM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Try stepped keys maybe? :x
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2008, 06:39 AM   #3
shunter
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

what do you mean by stepped keys. Are you referring to Mel or does it have to setting keyframes at one then at 20 then at 21 = your action

Thanks a bunch
shunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2008, 06:54 AM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

There are different types of keyframes in Maya, clamped, spline, stepped, flat, plateau etc, stepped keys don't interpolate, for example a ball with a keyframed color of red at frame 1 and then blue at frame 30 will stay red until frame 30. I'm not that experience with animating and this drove me batty til I found out about it lol. :p
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2008, 07:17 AM   #5
shunter
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You know it sounds familiar. I tried to find where they all are under the animation menu and also in animation preferences,but don't know where to change these presets.

Thanks again!
shunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2008, 07:21 AM   #6
shunter
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just found them in animation preferences under setting > animation. Is the default clamped? Anyway, maybe that is part of the problem. Thanks again, I will try that.
shunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2008, 12:29 PM   #7
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

I know you can find them in the graph editor, you can make your own marking menu also. /shrug
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2008, 06:39 PM   #8
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

(or yea putting a keyframe on frame 20 and then 21 would also do it)
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.