Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-08-2008, 04:30 AM   #1
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default emitting fluids at collsion points

Hey guys,

I would like to be able to emit fluids at collisions points (similar to particles' version), for instance if i had some geometry go through a layer of fluid (like a thin layer of mist etc) when the object goes through it, it leaves a hole but how would I go about getting the puff that would go up around the hole when the object hits.

Many thanks

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2008, 02:27 PM   #2
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

doesnt answer your question but id just use particles to make your 'mist' and 'use object as source of field'

otherwise id be looking at buying a lot of tuts.., from fluids 101.., to particle/poly/fluid integration.

other than that 'punch' you hole in your fluid in your compositing package.., using an aplha matt, or what ever you think fits.., rotoscope, vignette.., whatever..,

beats me why people want to EVERYTHING in maya.., thats not how production houses would approach it.., i think??

maya is for elements more than SPX these days.

MHO

mirek
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2008, 11:41 PM   #3
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Looking back at the question I didn't actually get my point across, must of got distracted when writing it lol.

What I actually meant to say is I know that you can't do it by default, but I prosume it can be done by script, I was looking for some ideaas of how to set it out.

Chris

PS I am perfectly aware of Maya shortcomings which is why I would usually use other programs/techniques for such an effect, but I am trying to work on my mel scripting at the moment
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.