Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-08-2008, 03:01 AM   #1
Goatfish
Registered User
 
Goatfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default First Model

Been working on the human form tutorial for about 4 days now, was the first thing I did when I booted maya for the first time. So only been using maya 4 days, took a little longer then it should, ran in to stupid problems, but now atleast I know, so next one shouldnt take as long

Crits are extremely welcome.
Attached Thumbnails
 
Goatfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2008, 03:04 AM   #2
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Theres no such thing as a stupid problem when your starting out with maya

is it possible that you could post a wireframe?
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2008, 03:48 AM   #3
Goatfish
Registered User
 
Goatfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

How can I get a wire? just take a screenshot? my wires are kind of messy, i had to redo them many times, do to me not correctly looping edges and stuff at the beginning, so my next model should be much cleaner now that I have better experience with splitting polys and such.

Edit :

Just did a print screen, if theres an easier way please let me know

Last edited by Goatfish : 30-08-2008 at 03:54 AM.
Goatfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2008, 03:55 AM   #4
Goatfish
Registered User
 
Goatfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Heres the wire
Attached Thumbnails
 
Goatfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2008, 10:17 AM   #5
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

ah i see you selected it to show us the wireframe

you can toggle "wireframe on shaded" in the view window menus (i can't remember which one, i dont have maya infront of me)

4 days isn't bad, even though Kurt did it in a short time, he would have done it a few times before (or maybe just once) so he could predict any mistakes and figure out how to avoid them before hand

besides, you said this was the first thing you did when you booted maya for the first time, so 4 days is actually really good

now, if you can repeat the thing and do it in 4 hours without the aid of the tutorial then you know you definately learnt something!
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2008, 07:14 AM   #6
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

?? wow.., 4 days.., ive beeen using maya over 4 years and i would be hard pressed to do such a good work in such short time.., pat your self on the back

and if you think you have seen 'stupid' problems.., keep using maya because you haven't seen nothing yet .., the 'stupid' problems will be coming thick and fast

as was said.., no such thing as stupid problems.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2008, 04:57 PM   #7
zico_samagoria
Registered User
 
zico_samagoria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Egypt
Posts: 129
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

wow man it's really short time ... four days in your first try is not even a long time ... i took about 2 weeks in my first organic model .... try to watch more about the techniques of modeling with polygon and also start learning more about rendering because you will need it nearly in the upcoming days .... GO ON You Deserve
__________________
You Deserve
zico_samagoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM
Female Head, Marlon John marlonjohn Work In Progress 18 13-01-2011 08:44 AM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM
jerry can ctbram Work In Progress 29 26-11-2010 03:51 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.