Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-09-2008, 05:45 AM   #1
petersrin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 229
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default Robin Hood

So, friend is doing his thesis film, Robin Hood. I've been asked to create the following: a castle for wide shots, and arrows for general mahem. My castle is at this point... any suggestions?
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
--
Peter Srinivasan
Producer
petersrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 07:19 AM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

The edges look a tad sharp, and the testure dosnet really have much of a "feel" to it, i.e no/not much of a bump.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 03:29 PM   #3
RockyMills_01
Subscriber
 
RockyMills_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: St. Kitts, Caribbean
Posts: 235
Thanks: 7
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Default

I agree with gster123.
The piece looks more like a Lego castle set. I like it.
The model is ok except for those sharp corners mentioned earlier. The texture work is a bit too monotonous. Try adding some moss on the bottom and vary it on both sides of the castle. You can also change the tone of some bricks on either side to show some weathering and discoloration as well.
Bump maps will also help by adding more depth.
That should add a bit of visual variety.

*Some flags might be a nice addition.
RockyMills_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 04:38 PM   #4
petersrin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 229
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

yeah. My current plan is as follows:

Add displacement map in shape of castle bricks.
Add procedural bump map for close ups - there will be one, MAYBE two.
Add procedural color textures... also for close-ups, probably will match the procedural bump in shape.
Add flags on the top spire and the center spire
Add catapults to flat surface towers.

This will be composited onto a live-action hill, which will give the foliage requested, however, I'm thinking I should have some vines on the outside as well, but I'd like to render them as objects, not a map, due to the close-up. So:

displacement - will the system automatically tessalate my mest when I apply it, or do I have to do that? I've actually never used displacements before.

I'm sure there are tuts about flag dynamics, as I'm not familiar with Maya's dynamics package.

What do you think? Will displacement take care of the lego feel? Or do I need to bevel the edges or something? Thanks!
__________________
--
Peter Srinivasan
Producer
petersrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 05:15 PM   #5
petersrin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 229
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

With prelim bump maps added - no displacement :<
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
--
Peter Srinivasan
Producer
petersrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 09:31 PM   #6
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

needs more detail like turrets and stuff, theres too many flat surfaces right now

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 10:15 PM   #7
GioChrono
Registered User
 
GioChrono's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tunbridge Wells, UK
Posts: 354
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Bevel!

Go on bevel the edges you know you want to. And perhaps rough up the silhouette a little so it looks less boxy as you don't want to rely purely on displacement maps.

Cheers

Gio
__________________
Gio

Creator of The Talos Project

GioChrono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 11:37 PM   #8
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

i have to agree with rocky... it looks like it's made of lego :attn:

and it looks pretty squished in, but then i haven't seen a castle from the timeframe of robin hood in my years of being able to remember what i see

maybe those outer corners can be cylinders instead of boxes?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 12:48 AM   #9
petersrin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 229
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

I'm fairly new at all of this. The best way to "rough it up" would be? I don't have z-brush, I've seen a LOT of talk about it, but alas :<

So, would I tesselate the model (much of it IS indeed large flat quads and such) and then just push and pull, skew the vertical lines, or what? Not build each brick individually, I hope!

Yeah, Jay, I intend to be adding stuff sticking out of the walls as well (just found that out after the last post), but when you say more detail, are you talking about more brick structures as well? If so, and this goes to Chirone as well, the design for the castle was given me by the director, so, I'm sure I could suggest things, but he's got a specific geography in mind :<

Anyway, thanks a lot so far. I'll see what I can do to butcher the silhouette.
__________________
--
Peter Srinivasan
Producer
petersrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 02:19 AM   #10
alexanderH
Subscriber
 
alexanderH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

talk to the director mate. Find out what shots you need, how close/far different elements will get to the camera.
You won't want to add unnecessary detail where it will not be utilized or seen.

Where you are going to get close you might want to model detail or use a displacement. From far away you are able to get away with different details.
See what you need and then lay it out and ask for more specific ideas.
__________________
Peace, love and Anarchy~~~~~~~
______________________________
Wip:
iMac
Full House Project
Arch Viz Reel

My Website is Finally Back up!

“Welcome to the Internet. Where the men are men, the women are men, and the children are FBI agents.”
alexanderH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 06:55 AM   #11
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

There was a challenge on here quite a while ago to make some ruins, tweetytunes made a castle, try to find that as it would possible help you out if you look at his development, although your not going for a ruin the workflows and texturing methods should hold true to what your doing.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 01:35 AM   #12
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

needs lighting! and bigger size pictures would be nice to comment on to.



yea i would add alot more stuff into this
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 03:39 PM   #13
petersrin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 229
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Got an issue: I'm trying to add inconsistancies to the mesh's silhouette, but I can't seem to tessalate the mesh in such a way that I can have much control, for instance:

The towers in the front only seem able to add diagonal lines running from corners to windows and such (see attached). While I'd like to instead add more grid-like quads to the mesh for editing. Does that make sense?
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
--
Peter Srinivasan
Producer
petersrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 05:45 PM   #14
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

I can't really see whats going on with your mesh but by the issue you're describing you probably made the windows by extruding a face and scaling it inwards like the tower on the left, split poly tool + delete edge/vertex is your friend, you can rework the mesh so it more looks like the one on the right, then you can easily just drop edge loops in and get those "grid like" quads you want.
Attached Thumbnails
 
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 11:04 PM   #15
petersrin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 229
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Definately the problem. It'll take a while to update, since I've got all the school stuff to do :< I'll have to rework everything, but hey, it'll teach me... speaking of, the windows are supposed to be the attached. Should I then use the same suggested technique for roundish shapes? I suppose it should work...
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
--
Peter Srinivasan
Producer
petersrin is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.