Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-09-2008, 08:05 PM   #1
anasasis
Registered User
 
anasasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 347
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default photoshop cs4 3d painting

yes Adobe Photoshop cs4 is going to have 3d painting
theirs a write up on it at highend3d.com theirs also a huge
bunch of awesome features.
anasasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2008, 10:18 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I thought CS3 had it too? Or some form of being able to use obj's with it, never used it though.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2008, 03:45 AM   #3
Television
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: stockholm
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

is that meen that u can paint like in bodypaint?
Television is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2008, 10:59 AM   #4
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Television
is that meen that u can paint like in bodypaint?
That would be sweet, but I doubt it will be like that.

Yes CS3 Has a 3D feature... I've never tried it. I'm still using CS2. I hate how slow CS3 is. Though I wouldn't mind getting the Adobe suite. Now that it comes with Flash. So I might consider upgrading to CS4... Looks cool.
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2008, 12:48 PM   #5
louis56
Registered User
 
louis56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 344
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Its not really 3D. Its more like 2D drawings of perspectives.
__________________
Visit www.Notice-Board.co.nz for FREE online classifieds, notices and ads in your area!!
louis56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 12:02 AM   #6
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

when CS3 came out i got all excited.., but the 3D tools were a let down.., many limitations. not many formats, 3 i think, the google format, Max and OBJ. the objects had to come in with a shader (i think,?? something like that) if there was no texture. the texture file could be referenced or worked on destructively. So basically you could have your model in CS3 PS, the texture map imported with it (i think) and you could work on the texture map as a separate file but because it was connected to the model it would update as if you were painting onto the model.., long winded and something like that. it was as confusing as i just made it

Mirek
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 04:33 AM   #7
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mirek03
when CS3 came out i got all excited.., but the 3D tools were a let down.., many limitations. not many formats, 3 i think, the google format, Max and OBJ. the objects had to come in with a shader (i think,?? something like that) if there was no texture. the texture file could be referenced or worked on destructively. So basically you could have your model in CS3 PS, the texture map imported with it (i think) and you could work on the texture map as a separate file but because it was connected to the model it would update as if you were painting onto the model.., long winded and something like that. it was as confusing as i just made it

Mirek

That pretty much covered it as far as I'm aware, it's a sort of pseudo 3d texture paint using 2d! But your explanation was pretty correct from reading up on it!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 05:15 AM   #8
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

thanks Steve.., well i cant use 'the memory' as an excuse anymore

cheers mate, all the best to yu

Mirek
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
where can i post info about 3D job openings? atadami Members Lounge 3 03-12-2010 10:51 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.