Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-09-2008, 11:34 PM   #1
Bounce_X
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Polygons to Subdivision Problem

Hi there Peeps

I'm doing a model of a gargoyle and have just stitched the two halves of the polygon model together, however when I then try to convert that polygon model to subdivisions it refuses to do so telling to check script which has all this baffling info.

Im sure this has been covered and I remember the problem being addressed in one of the tutorials on here, but there are so many tutorials I have no idea which one it is. So I wonder if anyone can help me out with the problem.

I have attached a smoothed polygon image of the gargoyle I am doing (don't worry I kept the low mesh polygon model ;OP)

Hope you guys can help. Once I sorted this problem, I will then add a stone texture to the model.
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
 
Bounce_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2008, 12:13 AM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

why do you want it as a sub-d model?
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2008, 12:23 AM   #3
Bounce_X
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi there

I work in polygons when adding detail. In subdivision it allows me to define the shape a lot easier, kinda like nurbs. Also when it comes to animating the character, if I animated the gargoyle whilst in polygon form it distorts funny whereas subdivisions tend to be more suitable for animation as far as I can work out.
Bounce_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2008, 12:27 AM   #4
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

post the error message, someone might be able to help you out...

I believe you can skin characters to deform better once they are rigged and ready for animation... dont know how tho.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2008, 01:00 AM   #5
Bounce_X
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Lol! You know what, just as I was doing what you suggested and copied and pasted the error message to post on here, the answer jumped right out at me and I was able to sort the problem. All I had to do was change the mesh face number to greater than the number of faces I had in the polygon model and hit convert.

I sometimes panic when things don't go according to plan.

Thanks for your help :O)


this was the message:
*****// Error: polyToSubdiv1 (Poly To Subdiv Node): Cannot create subdivision surface as the resulting surface would have more base mesh faces (2238) than the maximum allowed (1000).
// To increase maximum allowed, change Maximum Base Mesh Faces in Convert to Subdiv Options. // *****
Bounce_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2008, 01:11 AM   #6
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

is the error something like this?

polyToSubdiv -ap 0 -ch off -aut on -maxPolyCount 6000 -maxEdgesPerVert 32 |polySurface8|polySurfaceShape8;
// Error: polyToSubdiv1 (Poly To Subdiv Node): Cannot create subdivision surface as the resulting surface would have more base mesh faces (21848) than the maximum allowed (6000).
// To increase maximum allowed, change Maximum Base Mesh Faces in Convert to Subdiv Options. //
// Error: Command polyToSubdiv failed. Open Script Editor for details. //
you see where it says -maxPolyCount 6000? for you it probably says 1000 since that's the default
the error says that your mesh has too many polys for the sub-d algorithm to subdivide
this is solved by changing the "maximum base mesh faces". When you click Modify > Convert > Polygons to SubDiv click the box and you can change the limit there

read the first commented out line in the error message.

// Error: polyToSubdiv1 (Poly To Subdiv Node): Cannot create subdivision surface as the resulting surface would have more base mesh faces (21848) than the maximum allowed (6000).

this tells you that after the mesh ahs been converted to sub-d there will be 21848 polys (the number will be different for you), so this means you should change the "maximum base mesh faces" to 21848, although in practice you want to change it to a higher number, because you might make changes to the polygon mesh and then convert back to sub-d and get the same error again



my internet connection is so screwed up...
anyway, looks like you posted before i finished typing...
but my answer still applies
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D

Last edited by Chirone : 22-09-2008 at 01:15 AM.
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2008, 01:22 AM   #7
Bounce_X
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

LOL! Thanks very much for your post. That was indeed the problem I was facing.

Now I got to figure out how to make a stone texture using the maya hardware, I hate using photoshop to create some textures. If anyone has any advice on how to do this would be much appreciated. :O)

B
Bounce_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2008, 01:44 AM   #8
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

If you have photoshop you better start learning how to use it since you WILL eventually need it to create textures. There are only a few variations you can create without file textures unless you like having very VERY long shading networks.
IF you don't have it then you should learn Gimp or something like that...
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2008, 02:02 AM   #9
Bounce_X
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey Benny

I understand and appreciate what you have said. I work as a graphic designer using photoshop, illustrator, Indesign and a few other applications, my knowledge on the software is fairly advanced.

Photoshop textures in maya however is just a little bit far advanced for me at the moment because Im still a noob to Maya in many senses, I just wanted to know how to get a stone texture using the maya hardware texturing only to allow me to get used to and understand its functions there.
I've tried creating photoshop textures in the past and they have all come out rather dodgy so I need to learn the basics of texturing first. :O)

So if there is a way of creating a stone effect in maya just by using the maya hardware texturing I'd love to know how to do it.

Cheers!
Bounce_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting angolare and round polygons together? Red_Roxxor Modeling 19 04-02-2011 03:50 AM
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.