Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-09-2008, 02:15 AM   #1
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Texture question.

Hey guys

Ive got this texture (had to cut it due to the size) but this is huge. I mapped it onto a plane for displacement and got this result.

Ok what I wanted ive achieved. But i have to do this on a much bigger scale. Meaning that etxture has to be made smaller and copied so its tileable.

However, when i do this it greatly reduces the quality of the texture.

My quesiton:

How can i reduce an image in photoshop so the quality isn't reduced?

Thanx
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2008, 03:06 AM   #2
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Hehe, you don't If you don't like the quality just don't scale it down but make it larger instead while adding more bricks.
If you scale it down you will lose details. If you're going to make it to be tileable though you can simply add some repeat in Maya.
I have a strange feeling you already know that though...
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2008, 03:40 AM   #3
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

But the problem I have is that i have paint a spec map, a displacement map and of course the texture its self. I wanted to make them tielable in photshop so i can match up the spec map and also make it tileable etc.


Ok how can i explain without confusing things further.

I saw this tutorial on how to create a displacement using a NURBS plane with very hi resolution. Now, using the same sized plane but a poly plane and low res,...u used those UV's and brought them into photoshop.

I took my texture, spec map etc. from another photoshop file and imported it into this PSD.

My ultimate aim, is to be able to have everything set up so i can bascially paint over the overall floor itself for finer details, like oil spilages etc etc.

Here is my final floor i wish to texture the green plane in the middle is the rough size of the hi res texure,
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.