Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-09-2008, 12:51 PM   #1
kurt5
Registered User
 
kurt5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Measure in cm in Maya

Hi, is it possible to create a cube or a plane with specific measures like i do in Autocad. I would like to create specific objects and the only thing i have is a hand drawing paper with the measures written on it. So if enyone could help me, thanks
kurt5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2008, 01:33 PM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Windows>Settings/Preferences>Preferences, its under the "settings" section, you can change your units there so you can do your thing.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2008, 02:05 PM   #3
kurt5
Registered User
 
kurt5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks but i al ready now that. What i ment was can i create a cube on x10 y10 than put a dimension lenght on it let's say 10cm in the x axis and 20cm on the y axis just the same way i draw a plane in autocad Thanks
kurt5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2008, 02:58 PM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

just scale it to whatever you need as each unit is 1 cm, so a 2x2x2 cube is 2cm x 2cm x2cm.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2008, 03:09 PM   #5
kurt5
Registered User
 
kurt5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

okay thanks
kurt5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2008, 03:16 PM   #6
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

You can create customized shapes by going into the option boxes in the 'Create' menu. the channel box allows yow to edit those options as well as translate, rotate and scale to specific dimensions.
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.