Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-01-2003, 07:48 PM   #1
Chipper
Subscriber
 
Chipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: U.K.
Posts: 136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Smoothing

Hey peepz.. I am making models to import into UT2k3...simple models i have no problems with...but cylinders always show up the edges...if its got 16 sides youll see each edge and it wont look perfectly round.
Iv been told its down to the texture...im using default textures from the game and exporting them to maya ..adding them to the model to line them up and when i export the model i add the directory of the texture in the game. This works great for flat walls n stuff but cylinders show all the edges so that pipes look terrible.
I think its down to the textures not being shaders or something...can someone enlighten me as to what i need to do to make these models look smooth in the game...thx.
__________________
"Hear That Thunder"!!
Chipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2003, 08:05 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I don't know how the UT2k3 engine renders stuff, but in Maya, you've got the Harden/Soften Edges command under Edit Polygons > Normals > Harden/Soften Edge > Options. I usually put the slider in the options all the way up.

Hope that works for ya.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2003, 10:41 PM   #3
Chipper
Subscriber
 
Chipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: U.K.
Posts: 136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thx for the response Mike... although i think i gotta add more polys which is the general feedback im gettin...guess i shoulda looked at the standard meshes that shipped with game a lil closer.
But anyways im glad u posted as i had a look at your site an thought your work was incredible...an i got it bookmarked for the tutorials u have listed....thx.
__________________
"Hear That Thunder"!!
Chipper is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.