Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-10-2008, 03:40 PM   #1
0Dudeman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problem with rig...

So this is my first rig, it is going pretty good but I have a problem when I try to move the knee (and ankle), what happens is the knee and leg just stretch out instead of acting like a joint.
heres a pic:

Last edited by 0Dudeman0 : 20-10-2008 at 03:42 PM.
0Dudeman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2008, 05:22 PM   #2
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Joints should only be rotated unless they are the root joint (the first join in a chain).
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2008, 05:34 PM   #3
0Dudeman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ah ok thanks , but I just came across another problem, when I rotate the arm joints part of the body gets kinda sucked out with it and I don't knoe why.
0Dudeman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2008, 05:44 PM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Sounds like you need to paint some skin weights.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2008, 04:13 PM   #5
0Dudeman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

How would I go about doing that? Here is a pic to illustrate my problem:

Last edited by 0Dudeman0 : 28-10-2008 at 11:16 PM.
0Dudeman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2008, 08:28 PM   #6
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

yeah dude, looks like you softbinded your skin, which means you have weights to paint

select your mesh
in the animation menu set go
Skin > Edit Smooth Skin > Paint Skin Weights Tools > []

check out the maya tutorial help (Help > Maya Help > Learning Resources > Tutorials > Character Setup > Lesson 2 Smooth Skinning) for smooth skinning in action




heh, if this was XSI you could just grab the vertecies and click local reassign and then on the joint and you're problem would be solved
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2008, 12:13 PM   #7
0Dudeman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yay! it worked! now I got one more question, and I don't wanna make a new thread for it lol, I wanna model a arm (just as a practice exercise) and I am wondering if there is a way to ad vertex points also I would like to know if you can lock other vertex points so that when you move your selected ones the rest of the object is unaffected so I don't keep getting creases.. hope that makes sense :S....
0Dudeman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2008, 04:34 AM   #8
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

you want to model an unweighted arm?

add vertex: use split polygon tool (read up on it's capablities)

second query doesn't make much sense
maybe post a picture?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2008, 02:21 AM   #9
0Dudeman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok now i'm making a run cycle, but I can't raise the whole character without him going all weird, lol and a run cycle with no height is lame! xD

sorry for all my stupid questions, I hope they aren't getting too annoying :S
0Dudeman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.