Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-10-2008, 05:27 PM   #1
garch
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Display of edges

Hi,

I'm currently building the model of a house and for some mysterious reason, the edges of the walls of the second floor display as soft edges, even if they are not. Now, I am using about 20 millions different programs and often get mixed up with my shortcuts, so is it possible that I hit a key that created that situation?

Thanks!
garch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2008, 07:18 PM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

it's kind of hard to know what you're asking

The edge is soft if the colour of two faces graudually blend into each other due to the changing normals
the only way to change the normals like that is to have a soft edge

the only thing i can think of is that your face isn't planar (the vertices don't exist on the same plane)

what's the relevance of mentioning your 20 million different programs? programs don't interfere with each other.

perhaps a screen shot of the wireframe of shaded with soft-hard edges displaying. and a rendered image so we can see that the hard edge is changing the normals of the faces like a soft edge.

sorry, i wont believe it until i see it given the definitin of soft and hard edges
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 03:52 AM   #3
garch
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hi Chirone,

okay so I'm attaching views of the walls which I have difficulties with, note that I don't have that problem with the floor above, all the edges display sharp and straight... Thanks for your help!
Attached Thumbnails
 
garch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 03:53 AM   #4
garch
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

without the wireframe
Attached Thumbnails
 
garch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 04:09 AM   #5
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

It could be that you messed with the normals, try selecting the object then go to Normals>Harden Edge.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 05:56 AM   #6
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

it's hard to see which edges are hard and which ones are soft

can you repost but have "show hard/soft edges" on for all polygons?

soft edges will show up as dotted lines and hard edges are solid
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 08:59 AM   #7
garch
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I'm actually working in NURBS, might look a bit silly for such orthogonal shapes, but I started from an EPS plan and traced over to create the surfaces. I had in mind to start creating more organic shapes eventually, that's why I chose NURBS over polys. So I can't use the harden edge tool, any other suggestion?
garch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 11:17 AM   #8
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

you know you don't have to stick with NURBS and that you can convert them to polys right?

not sure what a house needs with organic shapes... are you going to make a spherical roof with stylistic bumps and stuff?

i would have thought you'd want to start with a polygon box, extrude faces and draw new edges to get the walls of the house, then model the organic parts with NURBS and then convert them to polys, change the topology a bit so it makes a little more sense and then smooth

any part of the house that you'd be able to do in NURBS faster than in polys i'd convert after i'm done and sew the pieces together
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.