Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 31-10-2008, 06:52 PM   #1
rudeboymcc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Boolean -> Difference delets whole polygon?

HI. I'm trying to cut out a window for a house. The house is a polygon cube with some divided lines that i extruded to make a bay window.

I have tried selecting the house first then the window, and hte window then the house, and click boolean->difference but every time it deletes the whole house.

Wierd thing is, i have a version of the house just before i extruded all the bay windows and it works fine with that one (it's just a cube). In the new one i divided it loads and just added more edges. But I 'm not sure what i have done to cause this problem.

Anyone have any ideas?
rudeboymcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2008, 07:07 PM   #2
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

run a search in this forum with 'booleans disappear'
You should hit a few dozens at least...
You can find it n FAQs as well
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)

Last edited by BennyK : 31-10-2008 at 07:09 PM.
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2008, 08:35 PM   #3
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

show us a picture, ill be glad to help ...

i love booleans ... lol! :p
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2008, 10:42 PM   #4
rudeboymcc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok turns out there was a secret hole in my cube under the roof so i couldn't see it.

so i managed to get one window sorted. then i copied the polygon i used, and select the face on the bottom and extruded it to make the window taller.

Then when i try to do the same boolean difference (on the same polygon) i get the window but also some odd black artifacts around it (like someone literally punched a whole in the wall).

what causes these?

I've attached a pic of it.
Attached Thumbnails
 
rudeboymcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 02:31 AM   #5
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

either because you have multiple faces on there (which probably isn't the case for you)

most likely its because your faces aren't planer (flat along one axis)

solve this by drawing more edges

faces should be kept to 4 or 3 sided polygons where possible
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 02:49 AM   #6
rudeboymcc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK i don't know what was wrong with it but I used "set to face" and it fixed it.

Now i'm having more issues with the same face. I've got the windows and now i want to draw a horizontal edge at the base of each window for a window sill (that spans across the walls as well).

So i used the split polygon tool to draw more edges, turn snap to curve on. and i can draw the line ok, but when i press enter it covers up some windows. (i.e. the window indent is still there, it's just covered up by a face in front of it).

I don't understand where this face comes from when i only add an edge.

I've added a pic of the problem. THe orange edge is the one i've just added, and it's caused two windows to be "covered".

EDIT: ok i've played around some more, and the same thing happens if i cut the face in half. i'm guessing when i split polygon i'm doing the same thing.
Attached Thumbnails
 

Last edited by rudeboymcc : 01-11-2008 at 02:54 AM.
rudeboymcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 11:47 AM   #7
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

try delete all history
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 03:37 AM   #8
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

the reason why the new faces keep appearing is because the window isn't connected to the outer edge/box. all vertex's need to be connecting to something. Booleans are abit of a pain when you work with cyclinders with lots of vertices.



the reason why that wierd line is happening is because there are extra vertices which are not needed and creating stretch in your mesh. you may need to move some vertex's as they will be hiding underneath each other



hope this helps abit

Last edited by marlonjohn : 06-11-2008 at 03:43 AM.
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.