Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-11-2008, 11:52 PM   #1
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default pasting clips automatically

Hey, I am after trying to automate putting various animation clips into a pre-made character set depending on certain conditions. For instance say I had a sphere, moving along, then, if it moved past a certain piont on the grid, etc, it would chuck in an animation clip of it bouncing, etc.

I'm guessing it would have to be an expression that would switch between clips, depending on various conditions, and it would be like automatically pasting them into the trax editor.

Any ideas on this one as it could be a useful piece of code, or concept ot get the hang of.

Many thanks

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2008, 03:30 PM   #2
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ok so far I have a simple switch statement to make some objects, later the objects will be replaced with the animation clips...

/////////////////////////////
proc objMaker(int $val) {

switch($val) {
case 1:
polySphere; //be replaced by a certain clip
break;

case 2:
polyCone; //be replaced by a certain clip
break;

case 3:
polyCube; //be replaced by a certain clip
break;
}
}

objMaker(1)
/////////////////////

What I want to do is work out, for instance, if it goes past a certain point on the grid, or reaches a certain frame, etc, then apply an animation clip, or in the mean time do whatever command I have in the different cases.

Many thanks

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.