Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-11-2008, 07:40 PM   #1
tetra86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default channel box problem

Hi there, im really new to maya and have been trying to teach myself some basics recently. My problem is that when i create a polygon shape and bring up my channels box by pressing ctrl A twice i dont seem to have a inputs section to add subdivisions to the polygon shape is there an option to bring this up?? im using maya 2008 any help would be greatly appriciated cheers
tetra86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2008, 07:53 PM   #2
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Most likely you have the construction history toggled off. It should be one of the icons on the status line...looks like a piece of parchment. Make sure it's active.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2008, 08:02 PM   #3
tetra86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yo thanks alot mate that sorted my problem now i can start properly modelling
tetra86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2008, 09:27 PM   #4
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hey tetra86, since you're new and learning Maya, you might wanna check out this video tutorial: http://jrwhoart.ruggfamily.com/tutorials.html
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 06:24 AM   #5
lobbot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by NitroLiq
Most likely you have the construction history toggled off. It should be one of the icons on the status line...looks like a piece of parchment. Make sure it's active.
Thank you very much. You have no idea how much time I spend trying to figure a way to reactivate the inputs menu. (Maya's official manual does not even mention this).
lobbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 11:15 PM   #6
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Originally posted by lobbot
(Maya's official manual does not even mention this).
i'm pretty sure it does, it just does it in odd random places using proper terminology that new comers won't know... or it's implied somewhere
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.