Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-12-2008, 03:52 PM   #1
Jenga1
Registered User
 
Jenga1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default DISPLAY PROBLEMS

I'm a newcomer to Maya and I've been experiencing certain display problems for a while now - and I've been told that it's probably a video driver problem.

My problems are

1. Numbers on my 'keyframe' display on the bottom of the screen - appear serrated

2. Same problem with my 'axis ' display on the main interface screen

In 'safe' mode these 'display' errors do not exist

My computer was built in a local shop, and I believe I have identified the graphics card as being an SiS mirage graphics card.
Whilst I downloaded 'Driver Detective' - it detected 6 problems that require rectifying , however I cannot currently afford to register in order to do so.

Can anyone help?
Jenga1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 04:32 PM   #2
budgent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Display issues are usually caused by graphics cards that are not really suited to working in 3D apps like maya, which is what is looks like you have.

If you are able, get yourself a 3D workstation graphics card such as a nVidia quadro or ATI fireGL.

Gaming cards (even the very powerful ones) can still give viewport errors as they are not designed for 3D design applications, though many work OK.
budgent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 04:36 PM   #3
Jenga1
Registered User
 
Jenga1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for that - the problem is though that it DID work without these problems when it was instaled earlier this year - what else may be thge matter in that case do you think?
Jenga1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 04:41 PM   #4
budgent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My best guess would be that your graphics drivers have been updated and/or changed (possibly by another program), which has affected your maya display.

Maybe uninstalling and reinstalling your graphics driver will fix this - or updating to the latest version?

Either way, if you are serious about getting into 3D, a good graphics card is a must have.
budgent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 02:14 AM   #5
Jenga1
Registered User
 
Jenga1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok! I'll try that ! thanks for your help!!!!
Jenga1 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.