Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-02-2009, 03:19 AM   #1
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default color Displacement map problem.

Hey - so i'm using maya 09 and i'm trying to get my color map working with my displacement map on this model.

for some reason when i add the color map it doesn't render properly. i don't think it's a problem with the UVs - as you can see it looks fine in the view port.

i've noticed that if i adjust the settings in the approximation editor for displacement tessellation and subdivisions - it seems to move the color map - as you can see in the bottom 2 pictures.

i'm kind of confused as i don't see why this should affect the color map... i've tried deleting history and everything else i can think of....what am i doing wrong??
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 09:17 AM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Hi Arran,

Not too sure what the problem might be, i've not rendered a displacement from Z for a while, Jay had a post in the rendering thread about Z and maya 08 which might be helpful for you to have a look at.

It may be that its messing up the UV's in someway when the sub'd's being applied??
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 01:16 PM   #3
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

hey gster - thanks mate - yeah - i think your right - it's like the UVs are being moved by the approximation editor - yet they still look fine in the texture editor. It doesn't seem to happen in maya 7 so i wonder if it's a bug.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 01:20 PM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

What happens when you smooth the low poly in maya, are the UV's screwed up then?

Just that I've had a couple of things "alter" the UV's after emoothing that I thought would have preserved the UV space but didnt. Untill I switched it off in the smooth Mesh options.

Maybe theres an option in the sub d approx (or it might derive it from maya?)
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 05:20 PM   #5
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

thanks gster - when i tried smoothing, the UVs stayed in the same place in the texture editor, but when i rendered it went from looking like the bottom image to the middle image.

i looked at the smooth mesh options, but they were already turned off and telling it to derive from maya in the subdivision settings just had the same effect.

I tried rendering my frog with the exact same settings from maya 7 (which renders fine) and the same thing happened. the only workaround that i've found so far is to set the filter type to off on the color file and that seems to render it fine - tho i'm not sure how this affects the quality of the file.

hmmm...
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 06:38 PM   #6
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

ok - just got a response from hezza on cgsociety. here's his solution -

'Its a known problem with the Catmul Clark subdivision method that was introduced in 8.5, I really don't understand how anyone actually uses mental ray displacement in production without switching it back to the old division method

If you type

addAttr -ln "miExportCCMesh" -at bool mentalraySubdivApprox1;

the problem will go away, but you loose all the memory/speed improvements that the CCmesh method is meant to give us.

Please please report this as a bug to autodesk, its getting a joke this hasn't been fixed in 3 releases.'

haven't tried it yet as i'm at work.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 07:17 PM   #7
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Ahhh!!

Nice one, yeah I remember the intro of the catmull clarke method, it was introduced so that MR would render non-ngon sub-d's if I remember rightly.

Cheers

Arran!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.