Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-02-2009, 01:24 AM   #1
pixel_poison
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Texture inputs

hey all, basically i just wanted to know where each texture input is placed? for example - using a blinn

(Q1a) does the difuse texture go into the disfuse input. because i always put it into the color input. is there any difference?

(Q1b) also in specular shading - there are multiple inputs.


(Q2) where are these same inputs on other types of nodes? eg. lambert etc.

thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
 
pixel_poison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 07:55 AM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

(Q1a) does the difuse texture go into the disfuse input. because i always put it into the color input. is there any difference?

Keep plugging the color texture into the color channel. The diffuse will just affect how dark or bright the shader will appear.

(Q1b) also in specular shading - there are multiple inputs.

That wasn't really a question so you lost me there lol :p


(Q2) where are these same inputs on other types of nodes? eg. lambert etc.

Lambert is a matte surface material and will not have specular attributes. I find the Blinn to be a very versatile shader as it can easily look lambertion if you kill the spec and reflect values.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 10:40 AM   #3
pixel_poison
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

basically, i just wanted to know which input in specular shading do i put the specular map into?

thanks.
pixel_poison is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.